

PORTOBELLO COMMUNITY COUNCIL

DRAFT Minutes of the 30th Annual General Meeting held on 28th May 2012 in Portobello Baptist Church Hall

Present: Tom Ballantine, Sandra Blake, Celia Butterworth, Diana Cairns, Dawson Currie, Maria Devoy, Caroline Hosking, Peter McColl, Ben McLeish (Gilberstoun Residents), Joe Madden (Portobello Open Door), Brenda Molony (*Portobello Reporter*), Eva Schonveld (PEDAL), David Scott (Portobello Community Centre), John Stewart (PAS), Nick Stroud, Ros Sutherland (PPAG), Leon Thompson, Anne Ward (PCATS), Sean Watters (Towerbank Parents Council), Frances Wraith (Brightons & Rosefield Residents).

Apologies: Lawrence Marshall (Portobello Older People's Project), Andrew Patterson (Portobello Council of Churches).

In attendance: Cllr Mike Bridgman, Cllr Maureen Child, Sheila Gilmore MP, Katie Quinn (CEC), Cllr David Walker, Margaret Williamson (Portobello High School), Sgt. John Young (Safer Neighbourhood Team), and 25+ members of the public.

30.1 Chairman's Introduction

John Stewart welcomed everyone to the Community Council's 30th AGM.

30.2 Minutes of the last AGM

The minutes of the 2011 AGM were approved at the June 2011 ordinary meeting.

30.3 Chairman's Report

John Stewart's report covered the wide range of activities which have occupied the Community Council over the past year:

"We have had an extremely busy year as a community council. We responded to the Main Issues Report of the new Local Development Plan and also the Strategic Development Plan. We commented on several planning applications for the area, including applications for expansion at Towerbank Primary, flats in Windsor Place, development on the former British Legion site, development at Newcraighall East and North and development at Fort Kinnaird. We also took part in the public inquiry concerning the former Big W site.

We have been active in many other areas as well. Our community consultation sub-committee organised a survey of community views, the results of which will be discussed later tonight, as will the ways in which we intend to follow up the views which have been expressed. I would like to thank Sean Watters in particular for all his hard work organising the survey and analysing the results.

We also had a stall at the village show to promote PCC and the survey in particular, and have set up a new sub-committee – the Town Centre group – to work with Sarah Woodford, the Town Centre Manager, and with local traders. The joint sub-committee with Portobello Heritage Trust to re-instate the Baptist Church Clock continues its efforts as does the signs and boards sub-committee which has recently organised the repair of the geology board which had been vandalised. A sincere thank-you to all of you who have volunteered to work on these groups.

We also held a special meeting, as requested by the public, to discuss the content of Portobello Park Action Group's website and their appeal regarding the Court of Session decision. The minutes of this meeting, expressing the views of those present at the meeting, have been sent to the Chief Executive of the Council, the Head of Children and Families, and the Council's Community Council Liaison Officer.

We are continuing to improve the community council website and the community council area in the library where the public can access information about PCC and the work we do.

It is impossible to mention all the issues that we have taken up in the past year. We have commented on the threatened privatisation of Council services, supported local residents in their complaints about all-night train

noise, been involved with improvements to Rosefield Park, commented on the restructuring of parliamentary boundaries and traffic management proposals for the Bath Street to Bellfield Street area, and adopted a telephone kiosk which we hope to turn into an art installation. We have also held several consultations with the Council concerning the new signage that is proposed for the Promenade. More will be reported concerning this later this evening.

The community council also organised a most successful hustings event in the Town Hall last month.

I would like to thank several other people for all the help they have given us throughout the year. Katie Quinn and Allyson Thomson from our Council's East Team have been unstinting in all the help they have given us in their regular environment updates and in the many other issues we have asked them to help us with. We are also fortunate in the help we have been given by our local police force and I would like to thank John Young and Barry Mercer in particular for all their support.

Our three local councillors, Maureen Child, Mike Bridgman and Stephen Hawkins, provided us with invaluable support throughout the year as have our MP and MSP, Sheila Gilmore and Kenny MacAskill. I would like to thank Stephen for all his help and to welcome David Walker to our meetings. We look forward to working with him.

I would also like to thank Peter McColl for representing us on the Neighbourhood Partnership, and Dawson Currie for representing us on the EACC.

My final thanks go to your office bearers, Brenda Molony, Nick Stroud, Diana Cairns and Leon Thompson, for all their hard work throughout the year."

Maureen Child thanked John Stewart for his hard work as Chair.

30.4 Treasurer's Report

Leon Thompson circulated copies of the accounts and summarised the main features. He had not received a copy of the Joppa Tennis Courts accounts and would circulate these at a future meeting. The accounts reflected a typical year of Community Council operation. There were two reimbursements of the annual rental for the tennis courts because one had arrived too late to appear in the previous year's accounts. The apparently large figure for the website domain name registration was due to its being for five years.

At the year's end the Community Council had $\pounds 2,070.51$ in the bank, which Leon felt indicated the need for some disbursement to local groups or other investment in local projects.

The 'Signs & Plaques' account had been reduced by the year's activities to just **£5.61**, and Leon suggested this should be wound up and the ongoing maintenance costs – which are divided 50-50 between the Community Council and the Amenity Society – should come out of the ordinary account. This was agreed.

30.5 Election of officers for 2011–2012

Maureen Child took the chair for the election of the Community Council chairman. John Stewart and Ben McLeish were nominated, and both made brief presentations and answered questions. In a secret ballot John was elected by 13 votes to 7. John resumed the chair for the election of the other office bearers:

		Proposed	Seconded
Chair	John Stewart	Brenda Molony	Caroline Hosking
Vice Chair	Brenda Molony	Diana Cairns	Anne Ward
Treasurer	Leon Thompson	Ben McLeish	Joe Madden
Joint Secretary	Diana Cairns	Caroline Hosking	Ros Sutherland
Joint Secretary	Sean Watters	Ben McLeish	Maria Devoy

30.6 Any Other Business

There was none.

30.7 Next AGM

The 31st AGM is due to be held on Monday 27th May 2013.