• Portobello Community Council
  • c/o 14 Rosefield Avenue
  • Portobello
  • EH15 1AU

Portobello Community Council

Following the closure of the nominations period on Monday, 26 September, 2016 a new community council has been elected for Portobello.

Whilst there were insufficient nominations to trigger a public vote, 17 out of 21 available posts were duly filled.

Elected Members

Paul Lambie
Mark Cameron
Elaine Murray
Mary Campbell
Colin Cuthbert
Miranda Hurst

Lee Kindness
Geoff Lynn
Donald Bloxham
Madeline Begg
Esther Gray
Sean Watters

Local Interest Groups


Brightons and Rosefield Residents' Association
Brunstane Primary School Parent Council
Duddingston Primary School Parent Council
Friends of Bellfield
Towerbank School Council

Peter Bradley
Tara McCarthy
Frazer McNaughten
Justin Kenrick
Onyema Ibe

Statutory Purpose

The statutory purposes of the community councils are set out in Section 51 (2) of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973, as follows: -

''In addition to any other purpose which a community council may pursue, the general purpose of a community council shall be to ascertain, co-ordinate and express to the local authorities for its area, and to public authorities, the views of the community which it represents, in relation to matters for which those authorities are responsible, and to take such action in the interests of that community as appears to it to be expedient and practicable''

Click the links below for more details

General purpose of community councils

Community Council duties